Search

band annie's Weblog

I have a parallel blog in French at http://anniebannie.net

Date

February 10, 2012

Live from Homs

Outside Syria, the least we can do

Twitter Campaign WORLDWIDE | حملة تويتر للثورة السورية

Follow us on Twitter: @SyriaCampaigns http://twitter.com/#!/SyriaCampaigns

Like us on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TwitterUsersForSyria

FRIDAYS

3-5 pm (15:00-17:00) Syria Time GMT +2

8-10 am (08:00-10:00) USA Eastern Time GMT-5

الجمعة

3-5 pm (15:00-17:00) حسب التوقيت المحلي لسورية  GMT +2

8-10 am (08:00-10:00) حسب التوقيت المحلي للسواحل الشرقية للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية  GMT-5

***LOOK BELOW FOR MORE TIMES AROUND THE WORLD***

***انظر على آخر صفحة***

—————————————————————————————————————————

How the weekly campaigns work:

At the time assigned to your region, join us and add the hashtag that we will release ONE HOUR BEFORE THE EVENT to your tweets. Please follow @SyriaCampaigns for the new hashtag and forideas. Try and come up with original tweets, RTs do not generally count towards trending! They don’t have to be perfect. Try to get in as many tweets as you can within the 2 hours. We want to get the hashtag to trend worldwide on Twitter in order to raise awareness and to pressure news organizations and worldwide governments to take action!

It is very important that we are all tweeting at the same time. Please look above to see what time this event starts in your area!

***The NEW hashtag will be released 1 hour before the event!

We have done a lot of research and found that in order for a hashtag to trend, it is best for it to shoot from 0%. Therefore we will give you all the new hashtag just a couple of hours before the event begins, so as to ensure that no one uses the hashtag before.

Questions? Concerns? Feedback? Suggestions for future campaigns?

Email us at SyriaCampaigns@gmail.com.

كيفية عمل حملتنا الأسبوعية:

في الوقت المعين لمنطقتك انضم إلينا و أضف هاش تاغ للتويت الخاص بك و الذي سيتم إرساله من قبلنا و ذلك قبل ساعتين من موعد الحدث. تستطيع ملاححقة أو متابعة  @SyriaCampaigns و ذلك للحصول على أفكار تستطيع عمل تويت لها.

حاول ان تكتب افكارك مهما كانت في تغريداتك، التريند ليس هو الهدف الوحيد للحملة

ليس من الضروري أن يكونوا على نحو متقن بشكل كامل. حاول بإضافة تويت قدر الإمكان و ذلك خلال فترة الساعتين المتاحة و لكن انتبه أن تجتاز الحد الأعلى لعدد التويت المسموح و بالتالي تتلقى  “twitter jailed”.

غايتنا في الحصول على هاش تاغ لجذب العالم إلى تويتر و بالتالي رفع الوعي والضغط على وكالات الأنباء والحكومات في جميع أنحاء العالم لاتخاذ الإجراءات اللازمة.

من المهم جدا أننا جميعا نقوم بعمل تويت في نفس الوقت. لذا فيررجى البحث أعلاه لمعرفة الوقت الذي سيبدا به الحدث تبعا للمنطقة الجغرافية المتواجد بها.

يرجى الانتباه أن الهاش تاغ سيحرر قبل ساعتين من موعد الحدث.

لقد أجرينا العديد من الأبحاث و وجدنا أنه لكي نروج للهاش تاغ فإنه من الأفضل ان نبدآ من الصفر، لذا سنوفر لكم الهاش تاغ الجديد و ذلك قبل ساعتين فقط من موعد بدء الحدث.

لأية أسئلة أخرى أو استفسارات أو ردود أو مقترحات مستقبلية يرجى مراسلتنا على: SyriaCampaigns@gmail.com

—————————————————————————————————————————

IMPORTANT: Please follow our official Twitter account for the Syria Campaigns: @SyriaCampaigns (http://twitter.com/#!/syriacampaigns) & “like” our fanpage (https://www.facebook.com/TwitterUsersForSyria).

هام: يرجى متابعة حساب التويتر الرسمي للحملة السورية @SyriaCampaigns (http://twitter.com/#!/syriacampaigns)

و عمل لايك على الصفخة الخاصة بنا (https://www.facebook.com/TwitterUsersForSyria).

—————————————————————————————————————————

Time of Campaign around the world:

FRIDAYS

*** 3-5 pm (15:00-17:00) Syria Time GMT +2

*** 8-10 am (08:00-10:00) USA Eastern Time GMT-5

GMT -5: 08:00 – 10:00: USA Eastern, Ontario, Quebec

GMT -6: 07:00 – 09:00: USA Central, Ontario

GMT -7: 06:00 – 08:00: USA Mountain, Alberta

GMT -8: 05:00 – 07:00: USA Pacific, Vancouver, Anchorage, Yukon

GMT -9: 04:00 – 06:00: Alaska

GMT -10: 05:00 – 07:00: Hawaii

GMT 0: 13:00 – 15:00: London

GMT +1: 14:00 – 16:00: Algiers, Tunis, Amsterdam, Berlin, Madrid, Paris, Rome

GMT +2: 15:00 – 17:00: Damascus, Jerusalem, Istanbul, Amman, Beirut, Tripoli

GMT +3: 16:00 – 18:00: Baghdad, UAE, Riyadh, Moscow, Tehran

GMT +4: 17:00 – 19:00: Dubai, Abu Dhabi, Muscat, Kaul

GMT +5: 18:00 – 20:00: Islamabad, New Dehli

GMT +6: 19:00 – 21:00: Sri Lanka, Burma

GMT +7: 20:00 – 22:00: Bangkok, Jakarta, Western Australian

GMT +8: 21:00 – 23:00: Beijing, Hong Kong, Singapore, China Coast

GMT +9: 22:00 – 00:00: Seoul, Tokyo, Central Australia

GMT +10: 23:00 – 01:00: Melbourne, Eastern Australia

وقت الحملة

الجمعة

*** 3-5 pm (15:00-17:00) حسب التوقيت المحلي لسورية  GMT +2

*** 8-10 am (08:00-10:00) حسب التوقيت المحلي للسواحل الشرقية للولايات المتحدة الأمريكية  GMT-5

GMT -5: 08:00 – 10:00: السواحل الشرقية من الولايات المتحدة ، اونتاريو، كيبيك

GMT -6: 07:00 – 09:00: وسط الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، اونتاريو

GMT -7: 06:00 – 08:00: جبال الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، ألبرتا

GMT -8: 05:00 – 07:00: طرف المحيط الهادئ من الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية ، فانكوفر ، مرسى ، يوكون

GMT -9: 04:00 – 06:00: ألاسكا

GMT -10: 05:00 – 07:00: هاواي

GMT 0: 13:00 – 15:00: لندن

GMT +1: 14:00 – 16:00: الجزائر ، تونس ، أمستردام ، برلين ، مدريد ، باريس ، روما

GMT +2: 15:00 – 17:00: دمشق ، القدس ، اسطنبول ، عمان ، بيروت ، طرابلس

GMT +3: 16:00 – 18:00: بغداد، الإمارات العربية المتحدة ، الرياض ، موسكو ، طهران

GMT +4: 17:00 – 19:00: دبي ، أبو ظبي ، مسقط ، كاول

GMT +5: 18:00 – 20:00: إسلام آباد ، نيودلهي

GMT +6: 19:00 – 21:00:  سري لانكا ، بورما

GMT +7: 20:00 – 22:00: بانكوك ، جاكرتا ، غرب أستراليا

GMT +8: 21:00 – 23:00:  بكين ، هونغ كونغ ، سنغافورة ، كوست الصين

GMT +9: 22:00 – 00:00: سيول ، طوكيو ، وسط أستراليا

GMT +10: 23:00 – 01:00: ملبورن ، استراليا الشرقية

—————————————————————————————————————————

Thank you for standing up for human rights in Syria! Please invite your friends and followers to join us. We appreciate all the help and support. Let us know if you have questions or concerns!

أشكركم على الوقوف من أجل حقوق الإنسان في سوريا. الرجاء دعوة أصدقائك وأتباع للانضمام إلينا. نحن نقدر كل المساعدة والدعم. يرجى إعلامنا أدناه إذا كانت لديك أسئلة أو استفسارات

A Syrian voice

From Walls comments

Says Son of Damascus :

Antoine, The Syrian regime is not cracking down on Homs alone (although Homs is seeing the biggest brunt of the offensive manoeuvres) Besho and Co. are cracking skulls and trying to quell the Syrian voice all over Syria. Trust me if the people can come out to demonstrate without the fear that they will in all likelihood die or be detained, they would do so in large numbers. What the regime did was give a little “breathing room” for the FSA and then come in and collectively punish everyone in the “breathing room”. (Same tactics the regime used in Lebanon if you notice) Zabadani, Deraa, Idlib, even at the border with Iraq (Deir El Zour) the army is busy suppressing and killing Syrians as I write this. Your anger is justified, but holding the people in Syria responsible for being quiet under such dire circumstances is wrong, the same CANT and SHOULD NOT be said about Syrians abroad. I am shocked and in utter disbelief at the inaction many Syrians abroad are guilty of, I remember during the Israeli Vs Hizbollah conflict in 2006 how Syrians were organizing Red Cross drives and collecting donations and spreading the word about the lives of the people in Southern Beirut living under constant bombardment, where are those same Syrians now when it is our own cities and our own people getting bombarded? That is shameful!

Why you shouldn’t question what you know is true

 

February 9, 2012

I’ve been British Ambassador in Syria since 2008. But I first visited the country more that 30 years ago. Syria, I know well and like very much. That makes what has happened since March last year all the more horrifying and sad for me personally.

The UN says over 5,400 people have died in the last ten months, some of them under torture in prison.  Other groups – particularly those opposed to President Assad and his regime – claim the figure is much higher.  The Syrian regime tells us that these claims are exaggerated and that the world should look instead at the deaths of soldiers and regime forces.

Who’s right? People say that it’s no longer possible to hide the truth. Anyone can post a video on YouTube or a link on Twitter for the world to see. But sometimes this abundance of information can lead to confusion over detail, instead of informed debate and rational arguments over the facts.

Sometimes we focus too much on the abstract and not enough on what we see with our own eyes.

Over the long period of time that I have known Syria, I have seen the regime of Hafez Assad and his son Bashar in action.  The Assad dynasty was never a pleasant one to its people. I have seen the wounds of people released from prison. I have spoken to the families whose relatives have simply disappeared. I have heard from those who got a knock at 2am from the Mukhabarat (intelligence services) and were taken away for a still unknown affront to the Syrian authorities.

But even having witnessed Syria’s dark side, the violence and brutality I have witnessed over the last ten months shocks me.

From the very start of this unrest, the regime’s tactics were laid bare. On 15 March 2011 we watched as 40 Syrians lined up outside the Ministry of Interior on Merjeh Square in central Damascus to protest silently the arbitrary detention of their friends and family. They made no provocative chants and advocated no violence. They simply held up pictures of their friends and family members that had been held in detention for months or years without trial. It was a scene of dignified and peaceful protest.

After 10 minutes, the regime had had enough. Plain clothed security forces moved in en masse. We stood and watched as they beat innocent civilians with sticks and batons. No care was taken for the elderly, for women, for the young children.  All were treated with equal brutality.

This scene has been repeated time and again. In the main Umayad Mosque in central Damascus, I witnessed a small group of Syrians chant for their freedom – only to be beaten by regime thugs.

I have seen myself what this regime can do – and is doing relentlessly, and on a daily basis.

I tell the Syrian opposition at every opportunity to avoid the path of an armed resistance. But the sad truth is that violence begets violence. That is why it is important that all sides refrain from violence and that the regime allows a political transition instead of repeating its hollow promises of reform.

Without context, it can be hard to make sense of YouTube images shot on a mobile phone. It can be hard to understand why a man with a family in a town in Syria would decide to take up arms against his government. It can be hard to believe that over 5,000 people have been killed in ten months, or that torture is a regular occurrence in prisons, children brutalised and tanks and mortars used by the army against its own citizens. If I hadn’t seen for myself what the Syrian regime has done I would be asking these questions too.

But I have. And it is too shocking to ignore. That is why I am so appalled by the vetoing of the draft resolution, tabled by Morocco, which supported the Arab League efforts to resolve the crisis. The resolution did not impose any sanctions. It did not authorise military action. And at every stage we worked to accommodate the concerns of others. There was nothing in the draft to warrant opposition. Those opposed to it will have to account to the Syrian people for their actions and the horror of the unfolding tragedy.

It is time for the world to speak with one voice to condemn the violations of the Assad regime and support the Arab League’s efforts to bring a peaceful, Syrian-led solution to the terrible crisis that is unfolding before us.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑